The Ancient Religion of the Babylonians

  • Post last modified:May 24, 2021

There were two empires of Babylonia – the Old Empire (c. 2200–1750 BC) and the Neo-Babylonian Empire (625–539 BC). Both the Babylonian and Assyrian religions, which bore a lose resemblance to one another, originally derived from that of Sumeria. However, differences between them evolved over time. The Babylonian religion stressed goodness, truth, law and order, justice and freedom, wisdom and learning, courage and loyalty. The chief Babylonian god was Marduk, ‘king over the universe entire’.

Continue ReadingThe Ancient Religion of the Babylonians

End of content

No more pages to load