The 7 Literary Standards

  • Post last modified:August 17, 2019

The seven literary standards are: artistry, suggestiveness, intellectual value, spiritual value, permanence, universality and style. These are a set of characteristics to determine whether or not a work is literary. The criteria was developed by writer William J. Long in his textbook "English Literature: Its History and Its Significance for the Life of the English-speaking World."

Continue ReadingThe 7 Literary Standards

End of content

No more pages to load