The Constitutional Commissions of the Philippine Political System

The constitutional commissions, namely the Civil Service Commission, Commission on Audit, and Commission on Elections, are empowered to appoint their own personnel in accordance with law, exercise fiscal autonomy, and promulgate their own rules concerning pleadings and practices before them or before any of their offices.

The Civil Service Commission, headed by a chairperson and two commissioners, is the Government’s central personnel agency and is tasked with establishing a career service, strengthening the merit and rewards system, integrating all human resource development programs, and institutionalizing a management climate conducive to public accountability in the bureaucracy. The Commission on Audit, headed by a chairperson and two commissioners, examines, audits, and settles all accounts pertaining to the revenue and receipts of, and expenditures or uses of, funds and property owned and held in trust by the Government. The Commission on Elections, headed by a chairperson and six commissioners, enforces and administers all laws and regulations relative to the conduct of elections, plebiscites, initiatives, referenda, and recalls. The Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines provides for the evolution of a free and open party system according to the free choice of the people.

The respective chairs and commissioners of constitutional commissions serve for terms of 7 years without reappointment.